Search Fishin.com

Thread: Drift Fishing

Post Thanks / Like

Drift Fishing

I've read a lot about drifting for big blues. And I've watched videos. And I've read some more. I understand the basics. But I've went a couple times and haven't had any luck. I predominantly catfish and it seems there are several guys here that are seriously into drifting for big blues. Would anyone be willing to show me the ropes hands-on? I've approached a few people and it seems people are hesitant, which I can understand. I'm just looking to shorten my learning curve and get a better understanding not only of drift fishing but also how to fish the river out of a boat in general. I'm new to fishing the river out of a boat. Not looking for a free ride, I'll gladly pay for the knowledge.

Thanks in advance.

Post Thanks / Like
    I'm eager to hear some responses to this as well. I've just recently started doing a little Ohio River fishing and I'm really out of my element too. Having grown up fishing farm ponds and good size lakes/reservoirs, river fishing is a totally different animal.

The thought of tangling with a big catfish prompted me to go and spend some money on four different setups. I think I'll try for them down at Barkley in a few weeks, some biguns down there.

Post Thanks / Like
    hi there I see your from Irvington I live in Brandenburg I fish the river a lot. and I do drift at times. best advice I can give is look for current brakes with deep water use a egg sinker rig 2 to 3 oz egg sinker about a foot leader 5/0 or even bigger size circle hook. at this time of year I use live bait or skipjack. let it hit bottom reel up a few feet and start drifting and keep a eye on your fish finder for depth changes if no luck redrift the hole in a deferent spot in the hole. hope this helps and if the river has a little current in it that always helps:-))

Post Thanks / Like