Search Fishin.com

Post Thanks / Like

what depth finder to buy

I purchase a new boat to me and want to update the depthfinder I think this one was the one on the mayflower.
    Want to spend 300.00 went to bp and talked to the person about them to get an idea. He said lowrance vs humming bird flip a coin. He also said down imaging at that price doesnt work when sitting still or if water is stained. He also said you have to be moving for this to work. Im not very good with electronics want something that is idiot proof to use.
    Thanks for any imput
    Bob

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by bob46 View Post
    I purchase a new boat to me and want to update the depthfinder I think this one was the one on the mayflower.
    Want to spend 300.00 went to bp and talked to the person about them to get an idea. He said lowrance vs humming bird flip a coin. He also said down imaging at that price doesnt work when sitting still or if water is stained. He also said you have to be moving for this to work. Im not very good with electronics want something that is idiot proof to use.
    Thanks for any imput
    Bob
    It is true that a Down Image system will not give you a picture quality image when sitting still ... you do have to be moving. At that price range, I agree that HB vs Lowrance is a coin flip decision. If you use the factory settings (default) and don't want to go through a learning curve on how to operate a depthfinder system ... I suggest getting the biggest screen b/w or color 2d depthfinder that you can find in that price range.