Search Fishin.com

Post Thanks / Like

Leaving aluminum boat in slip all season harm it?

Does anyone know if leaving a boat in the water all season harm an aluminum boat? I have kicked around the idea of renting a seasonal covered slip and just leaving it in the water, but I don't know what if any damage that might potentially cause.

Does anyone have any experience doing this, any problems or suggestions?

Thanks

Post Thanks / Like
    I'll take a stab at this but trust me, I have no real world knowledge.

It's a boat. It's supposed to be in the water.

One of the minor problems might be a build up "scum" around and under the waterline.

Caution of any stray electrical current at the dock might cause electrolysis of the metal. ???

Post Thanks / Like
    Just scum on the bottom unless we experience a big freeze on the lake you have it on. Then the freezing thawing expansion thing can cause some issues but that would be very rare. Cover it well though as critters play havoc with boats in the winter.

Post Thanks / Like
    I agree with both posts. My dad kept his aluminum boat in the water year round down on Watts Bar Lake. He would take it out early spring and power wash the scum off the bottom. If you dont, you will lose speed and gas mileage. Watts Bar never froze so he never had the extreme temp changes. On Ky lake you would, unless you are in Tennessee.
    Bassky

Post Thanks / Like
    Thyme an mark are right on. It wont do anything but cause a little waterline scum mark on the hull, you can pull the boat out and take it to the car wash and spray the scum line off fairly easy , but be careful and dont blast the decals and stripes off.
    Also you will need to make sure your automatic bilge pump is in perfect condition. And check it periodically.