Search Fishin.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to Jugging

Post Thanks / Like

New to Jugging

My buddy and I are getting into the jugging game! We fish taylorsville a lot for bass and decided we want to try to get some catfish together for some fish fry's this summer. We made some really nice noodles with pvc centers, caps on both ends, and a small eye bolt on bottom cap secured on the inside with a nut and gorilla glue. We will probably be fishing Taylorsville 99% of the time so my question is, how deep do many of you all set your lines? I have never done this before so any advice would be appreciated (especially any honey holes!) Thanks in advance.

Post Thanks / Like
    I use lines of 3, 6, and 9 ft at Green River. I have a silly method in which I color coordinate the length with the color of the noodle. Yellow = 3ft; green = 6th ect... It makes it easy to figure out what depth they are biting and I use my depth finder to see how many feet of water I'm fishing.

It's a lot of fun.

TG
    Likes KyBoneHead liked this post

Post Thanks / Like
    kybonehead im not an expert by any means but heres my advice from my experience. If your looking for large catfish (20 lbs plus) pm me ill help ya. Eating size catfish I fish my jugs on tville from 4 feet to 12 feet using fresh cut shad. using this method i have the best luck putting in at the van buren ramp and jugging the water about 30 yards from the bank. If you stand on the ramp and look right i jug from the second cove on the left to the ramp with awesome numbers of fish from 3 to 5 lbs. Just be VERY careful on that end of the lake it is very shallow and a ton of stick ups and big rocks to destroy a prop.Hope this helps

Post Thanks / Like