Search Fishin.com

Thread: Ledge Fishing

Post Thanks / Like

Ledge Fishing

So I'm really new to that method, and I'm learning............I also have a trip planned with Dave Stewart later this summer.....

In the meantime I have a cool story to share......

While "playing " with my electronics on a well known ledge on North KY, I had the following happen. I was motoring down the ledge, and found what I thought was the "magic spot", and I actually successfully marked that I thought was a good school of active fish. I've read a lot and researched a whole lot about using my "tools" effectively.

Well, I figured there would be more than one "spot" on that ledge, but I figured wrong, and after spending about 3-4 minutes looking at other spots on the ledge, when I turned around I noticed another boat, on the initial spot I had found. I was a little miffed, but not enough to be honked off or anything. I'm learning, and this was a perfect opportunity to "sniff" out some info.

If anyone knows me, you know I can talk to ANYONE on the water........ANYONE.

Tim and I started fishing this ledge in the "second" spots I thought might be good, but they were not. As I worked myself up the ledge, being mindful of the other boat, I told the other guy, don't worry, there won't be any boat bumping today, alluding to what happened in the FLW.........he snickered a little, and commented that I was "good". I still stayed way off of him and his guys, as the boated a few GOOD fish, including a 5.5 off that spot. Again, I didn't mind, as I was using this as an opportunity.

I chatted this guy up for about 5 minutes, and obviously this guy knew what was what, and WHY that exact spot was correct. He gave me some ideas, and when he left, he motored over to us, told me exactly on my map where to setup and how to fish it.

There were still fish there, and we managed to pound a big catfish, and had a few other good bites....., but only landed a few short fish.