Search Fishin.com

Post Thanks / Like

Any Corydon Area Anglers? (Harrison County, SE IN)

I am relatively new to fishing and right now I have been mostly buying gear, tackle, and scouting areas around Corydon.

I was wondering if anyone has any experience fishing in the Blue River or Big Indian Creek which are the main bodies of water running through the Corydon (Harrison County) area.

While scouting I've run into a few fisherman on the creek and they report decent small mouth and pan fishing (including cats, drum, and gar). It seems to be knee to waist deep which is fine for me since I have no boat (YET!). The Blue River seems to be tricky to access along Hwy 62 with somewhat steep banks leading down to it from the pull offs available. Some of the best access seems to be off of private property so I may have to go introduce myself and hope for the best.

I went over to the Wyandotte Wetlands and caught my first Bass. It apparently used to be a nice body of water until the dam failed and looks pretty marshy and shallow now. I've not walked the complete shoreline yet due to thick vegetation.

The Ohio river is also an option and I've found some nice spots to fish from but it's a bit intimidating and seems a beast that requires a learning curve.

Attached is a photo of my modest Bass, the Wetlands, and a Blue River access I found.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	36534042_1997443556953010_6993730891457495040_n.jpg 
Views:	181 
Size:	80.4 KB 
ID:	17131   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	36542629_1997443730286326_5270787512078434304_n.jpg 
Views:	203 
Size:	109.2 KB 
ID:	17132   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	36526490_1997443230286376_1223795113600221184_n.jpg 
Views:	183 
Size:	58.2 KB 
ID:	17130  

Post Thanks / Like