Search Fishin.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Helix Sonar

Hybrid View

Post Thanks / Like

Helix Sonar

In need of a new fishfindsr/GPS/ chartplotter. These look nice and the older (2017) models are cheaper. Center console/ Transome mount. 7 or 9 whichever fits. Opinions and reviews welcome. I fish Dale in the winter, FL in the spring and fall. Also welcome thoughts on the map cards, etc. I should also point out that with my previous Garmin model, or with any other finder I’ve ever used or been around, I have no idea where those fish/blips/ bait balls are in relation to where I’m casting and where my lure or bait ends up. Very much a novice when it comes to using or relying on a sonar with respect to fish. I’m good, obviously, for contour, depth and substrate but sounding a fish or a school of fish and knowing which direction to cast towards is another thing. Thanks in advance.
    V

Post Thanks / Like
    First let me say I have zero experience with what I am about to suggest but it's still going to be my suggestion. I have been getting the itch to update my electronics so I have been doing some research...If I were buying a new sonar for the sole purpose to locate fish then I would look really hard at Garmin Livescope. When Panoptix first hit the market I liked the way in which it shows a live picture but it was hard to for me interpret. The new Panoptix Livescope uses the Panoptix technology but the addition of Livescope changes the picture so you can see a easier to interpret picture of what's going on under the water.