Search Fishin.com

Thread: River Stripers

Post Thanks / Like

River Stripers

I live in Bowling Green, Ky and am wanting to do some river fishing for stripers. It is closer for me to go to the Nashville/Gallatin etc. area then to go to the KY section of the Cumberland River. I am new to striper river fishing and need some pointers. Live bait vs artificial, casting vs slipping, best times of the year and other information would be very helpful. Thanks in advance.

Post Thanks / Like

RE: River Stripers

I'd recommend hiring a guide for a day if you seriously want to learn how to fish for river stripers. The really big stripers are not an easy fish to target, especially since they can move long distances depending on current, time of year, water temp, and forage availability. It could take you years of trial and error to learn what a good guide can teach you in one or two trips. Even if you do everything right, stripers don't always bite, and if you go out by yourself to experiment and don't catch anything, you may not know whether it's because you're doing something wrong, or whether the fish just aren't in the mood on that particular day.

The best choices for a striper guide around here would probably be Fred McClintock or Don Schliecher.

bd

Post Thanks / Like

RE: River Stripers

Or you could just buy some planer boards, a few Trout, or catch shad or skipjack, and Pull them along the banks from the Cordell Hull Dam downstream and up into the Caney Fork.

As far as the time of year Spring and Fall is best for the larger fish. Summer is good for numbers of fish and Winter is good for drinking Old Charter, tying flies, building rods, Trout or Smallmouth fishing. I hate Winter fishing for Stripers but others will disagree. I guess the Gallatin Steam plant is a good winter hangout but you better bring plenty of Old Charter and a shotgun to help aid with the crowds of people in a 15 ft across canal.