Search Fishin.com

Thread: FNF help

Post Thanks / Like

FNF help

I started the float and fly thing this winter. I have all the rigging, components, etc. down. My question is "what kind of spots are you looking for, in general, to throw the thing?" I've used it the last the last three trips out (I'm new at it), and have caught enough trout to fill a couple of boats - still no brown or green fish. I have set my jig depth anywhere from 8 -to- 15 feet (should have seen me trying to get a trout in the boat with a 15' leader!) The lake I'm fishing is full of smallmouths. I have fished points, banks, creeks, main lake, etc.

I'm not asking for a lake or a GPS point, I'm asking - where on a lake should I begin my search? Water temp. is currently 40-44 degrees?

Thanks in advance for your replies and help.

Post Thanks / Like

RE: FNF help

I like fishing the Steep Rock Bluffs with a Float and Fly Rig.I have my best results that way .But that's on Cherokee .I use a leader of 10ft and 4 lb. test Yellow Stren .almost like fishing for Crappie but bounce the Float which moves the Jig vertical and then down.Claer as mud.Good Luck
    ... YANK

Post Thanks / Like

Personally, when the water gets down to 40 or below, I start with the main lake bluffs and bluffs just up inside the major creek arms. If that does not work, I will try deeper points on the north bank of the lake (If Black Shale Bank all the better). I found that when the temp is in Mid 40's and above they will still be up in the creeks still concentrating on bluffs and deep points. Don't overlook the cuts and nooks in these bluff walls for they are hot spots, especially if there is a good water depth change associated with the cuts.