Search Fishin.com

Thread: Stripers

Post Thanks / Like

Stripers

I am new to Alabama and I am looking to catch some big stripers (20+ lbs)! But, I dont have a clue on where to go. Any idea's?

mfrag Guest

RE: Stripers

[font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON Jul-30-05 AT 11:09PM (EST)[/font][p]According to my Delorme Alabama Atlas and Gazetteer they are in the following bodies of water;

Alabama River
    Coosa River
    Gainesville Lake
    Jones Bluff
    Jordan Lake
    Lake Demopolis
    Lake Tuscaloosa
    Lewis Smith Lake
    Logan Martin Lake
    Martin Lake
    Mitchell Lake
    Mobile River
    Tallapoosa River
    Tennessee River
    Tensaw River
    Weiss Lake
    Wheeler Lake

They may not be limited to these bodies of water however.
    And unfortunely, I've never caught a fish (of any kind) in Alabama (I'm new to the state) so all I can say for certain is what the book says.

mfrag

Post Thanks / Like

Its just not like lake cumberland mfrag.

mfrag Guest

Yeah, there are a lot more places to hunt the striper around here according to what I've heard. In Ky, Cumberland and the Ohio are pretty much the only places although I think they may have put them in Herrington too. Jordan and Martin are less than an hour away from me, so hopefully I'll be able to make some trips there soon. I would like to hit a couple of the creeks for some float trips but I think it has rained near my house everyday I've been in this state.

So are you in Alabama yourself Steve-o or are you just visiting?
    I do wish there was more posting on the Alabama board. I keep finding myself reading he Ky board everyday even though I'm not
    in the state anymore. Good luck with the stripers.

mfrag

Post Thanks / Like