Search Fishin.com

Thread: Wilson Lake Ala

Post Thanks / Like

Wilson Lake Ala

Was wondering if anyone could give me some info on Wilson Lake. Heard it was a great lake for Smallmouth.
    Thanks,
    TCB

Post Thanks / Like

RE: Wilson Lake Ala

Will if you want to drift shad below Wheeler Dam I heard they are hitting okay there now. I'd probably hire a guide if I've never done that before below wheeler Dam (can be dangerous if you don't know what you're doing).

The fishing on Wilson is pretty slow now because of the cool down that's happening on the lake in the last couple of weeks. Water temperature is around 63 degrees over most of the lake now.

I friend of mine and I have been fishing Wilson the last few Fridays and have managed to catch a good number of bass but nothing big to brag about.

The key for us has been to find the huge schools of shad in the backs of the creeks and cast small 3/8 ounce H&H type spinerbaits at them once the bass bust the shad schools.

There are millions of shad in schools all over the lake now and finding the right ones is the key.

If I did not see schools of shad and fish chasing them I would not waste my time fishing there and move on to the next school of bait fish.

Good luck,

BassinBob....

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks BassinBob for the info.
    Is Wilson really as awesome a smallie lake as
    I'm being told?
    TCB

Post Thanks / Like

Well at times it can be if you really know the lake. My personal best there is a 6.25 on 4 pound test with a "Sassy Shad". I was casting the lure to rock bluffs and letting it fall when the big smallie hit. Since I was in about 35 feet of water. I just backed off the drag and let the fish play it's self out.

You may know that Wilson was once the home of the world record smallmouth somewhere in the 10.8 pound range. But this was back in the 50's.