Search Fishin.com

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Tournament cheating

Just wondering what everybody's thoughts are on the frequency of cheating in tournaments. Most threaten live well checks and polygraph tests but except for the biggies they rarely happen. I don't worry so much about the biggies. It's the smaller club or open tournaments that concern me. I know there are a lot of really good fisherman out there but sometimes the winning string seems unrealistic. I'm certainly not accusing anyone but I do know that I've had fisherman offer me money for big bass that they saw me catch. And I've seen boats passing fish from one to the other. And on one occasion a few years ago, I snagged an underwater basket back in a creek that had a 5 lb. largemouth in it.

So, how often do we think it happens?
    What can realistically be done to prevent it, or can it be prevented?

Just wondering. I'm new to tourney fishing and I hope that no one is offended by this post because I know 99.9% of the fisherman I personally know would not cheat. what would be the point? We're really not in it for the money, we just love to compete and love to fish.

Post Thanks / Like

RE: Tournament cheating

Just assume that all buddy tournaments have cheaters and sometimes they will get the money. Should be more difficult to cheat in a draw tourney.

Post Thanks / Like

Tournament cheating

Sounds right. Thanks. I really hadn't thought of that (concerning draws).

Post Thanks / Like

I would say it happens more often than anyone thinks especially in open buddy tourney's. My opinion on it is if you have to cheat you are not any good anyway and you shouldn't be fishing to start with. I have never cheated I have had the chance to, but if I can't win fairly (Not that I win alot or anything)I would just sell all my stuff and just quit fishing!!!

Post Thanks / Like