Search Fishin.com

Thread: Reel Problems

Post Thanks / Like

Reel Problems

I've been fishing with baitcasters off and on for over 20 years, never any trouble, and now I'm having problems. I bought 2 used 201 curados,put fluro on one and went to the lake and had backlash problems. I thought since that was the first time I had used fluro, that was what was wrong. When I got home I tried mono on the other one same problem. I've adjusted the mechincal brake(little knob on the side where handle is?)and I've tried the brake deal on the other side(don't know for sure about it). Still not much better.What am I doing wrong?

Post Thanks / Like

RE: Reel Problems

Not familiar with Curados, but I had a similar problem with a different brand and had to send it back to the manufacturer. Had it looked at and worked on by 2 different reel guys to no avail, so I sent it back to the manufacturer. In that case it had to do with the centrifugal braking system, but I'm not sure if the Curados have that type of braking system or not.

Do the Curados have a magnetic brake that adjusts from the outside or do you have to adjust from the inside? Also, when you adjust the tension knob does it increase the drag and slow the spool down? If not then it could be the tension knob is not putting pressure/drag on the spool.

Post Thanks / Like

All the other baitcasters I've had the magnetic deal on the outside. The curados I'm not sure about. It says varible brake ststem on the outside,but I'm not sure how to adjust the brake. Can anyone tell how and if you can adjust the brakes? I took the cover off but don't see how to adjust them.Do you just tighten the side cover up?

Post Thanks / Like

There are 6 Brakes you push them out until you here a click. It is best to start with 2 opposite each other.

Get the NET!

Jerry Cole

Post Thanks / Like