Search Fishin.com

Post Thanks / Like

Should I retire? I have decided

Thank you to everyone for your replies and insights. I've finally made up my mind and here are my reasons.

First, an admission or acknowledgement of my occupation. I am a Pharmacist and work 3rd shift for a major drug chain. The company I've worked with for 21.4 years has just been doing "stupid" things for the last 5 years . I'm tired of trying to play their game.

At 15 years of service the employee benefits booklet states that the employee is eligible for 4 weeks vacation. That translates into 20 days. I always thought a week was 7 days but for vacation purposes a week is 5 days. Our weeks' schedule is posted for a 7 day period. Go figure.
    We must "apply" for our vacation requests for the 2008 year by November 30th of 2007. That means I have to know every single event that I may have to request time off for one year in advance. I have never had all 4 weeks requested granted. My requests for 2008 were two requests accepted and two denied. I can then request another 2 weeks time period but that is futile as all weeks are already taken in our district. So short story, I do not get four weeks off after 21.4 years service and seniority.

You customers need to be more civil. It is not my fault that your insurance company needs a prior authorization from your doctor for your new medication. Why would you think profanity directed at me and our staff will change what your insurance company requires. I have been polite and honest with you, and I expect the same in return.

Third shift is 80 hours in 7 days. One week on, one week off. I'm 58.5 years young. I can no longer work those hours and have a life. Yeh, the week off is nice and that is what has driven my decision to leave the work force.