Search Fishin.com

Post Thanks / Like

Lowrance vs. Hummingbird

I'm shopping a GPS sonar unit. It has come down to Hummingbird 787c2i vs. Lowrance LMS-522c. Looking at a demo of each with the Navionics chip, Hummingbird is the favorite right now. I have no experience with Hummingbird and have only owned basic Lowrance graphs. I need some insight.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Lowrance vs. Hummingbird

Don't know alot about hummingbirds, but that lowrance unit is hard to beat. Great GPS, great sonar - easy to use.

Post Thanks / Like

That would be a no brainier for me if I had the money for either unit.

We are comparing a bicycle to a Porsche in my opinion.

Three dimensional side scanning technology vs the 2d unit. Give me the side scanning unit hands down.

Look at the Pro's and see what they have to say about side scanning sonar technology.

Or better yet let me tell you that you can see much more of the bottom using side scanning and pinpoint any structure while moving slowly around the lake. The ability to mark spots on the bottom with a GPS waypoint is what makes the side scanning so valuable.

The 2d unit will have to be right over the top of a brush pile to located it. While the 3d side scanning unit could be 240ft off to the right or left of that brush pile and still be able to see it and mark it's location within 3 meters. It would take 20 to 30 more passes with the 2D unit to cover and see the same amount of lake bottom

Humminbird has the technology advantage today. Tomorrow Lowrance may come out with something new but right now the advantage is in Humminbird's corner.

Quote Originally Posted by drew238 View Post
    I'm shopping a GPS sonar unit. It has come down to Hummingbird 787c2i vs. Lowrance LMS-522c. Looking at a demo of each with the Navionics chip, Hummingbird is the favorite right now. I have no experience with Hummingbird and have only owned basic Lowrance graphs. I need some insight.

Post Thanks / Like