Search Fishin.com

Thread: Drift sock

Post Thanks / Like

Drift sock

Going to be heading down to KY Lake this spring to crappie fish and I am thinking about purchasing a drift sock. I have never used one before or have never been in a boat in which one was being used. Would this be a good purchase or just a waste of money?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Drift sock

On a different board - I was reading where some guys really liked them in their alluminum boats. When I first moved to Ky lake area - I really put some thought into getting one for my tracker. Check out BBC (it is alot less about fishing and more about boating) and see if you can find some posts relating to it.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by MSD View Post
    Going to be heading down to KY Lake this spring to crappie fish and I am thinking about purchasing a drift sock. I have never used one before or have never been in a boat in which one was being used. Would this be a good purchase or just a waste of money?
    A cheaper alternative is to make a couple out of 3-5 gallon buckets.

Materials: 3-5 gallon plastic bucket, 10' piece of 3/8"-1/2" plastic rope (such as ski rope), heavy duty swivel (any hardware store), some type of quick snap or clip (optional),

Remove the bucket handle.
    Drill out the handle holes to allow rope to pass thru
    Cut a 3' piece of rope and add swivel so it slides freely.
    Slide rope thru holes in bucket from the inside (tag ends will be outside of bucket). Tie a couple of large knots to keep rope from pulling back thru holes.
    Tie remainder of rope to other end of swivel.
    Tie optional fastener to opposite end of rope for clipping onto cleat of boat. If no fastener used, tie a loop in tag end or just wrap tag end around boat cleat when in use.

Some people drill a hole(s) in the bottom of bucket to make it easier to pull in when full of water. However, this will decrease amount of drag to slow your drift as well.