Search Fishin.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Question Baitcaster Advice needed

Ok...I aquired an older baitcaster and I am having some MAJOR issues with the "bird's nesting". Can anyone give me some usable advice on settings (are they different for jigging vs spinners, ect), ways to practice getting some distace (I am currently good to about....well if the pole is 6'6, then....13 ft , or any other aspect that you found useful when you started out? I appreciate any input I can get as my next KBFN event is in two weeks (and being as I have some time on my hands between interview I can't get) I want to try and use it for jigging at least. Thanks for any insight or help.

"baitcaster bird nesting expert",

Rob

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Baitcaster Advice needed

I'm no expert,but here goes.

On the reel handle side of the reel there should be a round knob. This controls the "tension" on the spool. Tighten it down till the lure [U]slowly[U]unwinds. Try casting with the "tension" tight and your thumb on the spool till the birds nest disappear. Then loosen the "tension" knob a little at a time. The spool should stop unreeling when your lure touches the floor.

There may also be internal brakes. Sorry, those I'm no good at adjusting.

Post Thanks / Like

Which reel is it. Most newer ones have two control mechanisms. Breaks and the tension knob mentioned above. These are to help control back lashing at both the beginning of a cast and the end. Of course the very best anti-backlash system is the thumb.