Search Fishin.com

Thread: Our Tax rebate

Post Thanks / Like

Our Tax rebate

Just thinking that if the gubment gives us more of our money this year then you might want to get your deductions altered. I'm not an expert on how this may work but I am an expert on paying each year.
    So if your one that likes to get money back at the end of the year look into this so you know whats coming next year.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Our Tax rebate

Good advice Don, but I never have figured out why so many people like to let the government use their money every month for over a year, INTEREST FREE, and then think it is so wonderful when the IRS gives them THIER OWN MONEY back after they file thier taxes. Not only that, but then many of them compound the idiocy by paying a tax preparer more money and interest to get an anticipation loan because they don't want the four to six weeks to wait to get thier money from the IRS.

Actually, it is better to arrange your deductions so that you OWE THE IRS AT THE END OF THE YEAR and then you put the differnce in your own savings account and you get the interest. Also, that way, if you should need the money for something, you can get it right away and not have to wait till the end of the year and pay for an anticipation loan.

Either way, you are right, everyone should check thier withholding so it comes out they way they want it.

Grumpy

Post Thanks / Like

I try to make it work out where I owe some money at the end of the year.

Here's why:

Two years ago, I had a refund of about $3000.

I altered my deductions right away and immediately saw a $125 increase in my paycheck. Essentially, I was getting next year's refund every two weeks.

Makes more sense to do it that way, IMO.

Post Thanks / Like

Talked with our accountant and it looks like the biggest possibility of any problem is the two income households.
    I agree that a small payment at the end of the year is your best bet.

Post Thanks / Like