Search Fishin.com

Thread: Painting Jigs?

Post Thanks / Like

Painting Jigs?

What kind of paint do you guys that make your own jigs prefer? I've used the powder and tried brushing on an enamel. Mixing and applying the powder is easier, but I like the colors I can get mixing enamels and the fact that I can put more than one coat on using a brush...just wondering what others preferred. I'm still new at making my own, and am open to new ideas. Thanks for any help or opinions you can give...

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Painting Jigs?

Powder paint. Much tougher than the enamals after its cured. You can do multiple colors and mix your own colors just like the enamals.

Andrew

Post Thanks / Like

Definitely powdercoat them. I like to bake them to make the finish even more durable. Make sure if you do bake them not to do it in the same oven that you cook food in. I have an old beater oven out in the shop just for this purpose.

Post Thanks / Like

You say to cook them. How much diff does it really make? New to jig making have not even brought a mold yet but is hard to find the sizes for fish that i do. any other tips?

Post Thanks / Like

After you have powdercoated them, bake them in an oven for about 35 min on 350 degrees. This makes the finish close to 5 times stronger than doing the old Bic lighter trick (heating, dipping, then fishing). 350 degrees is not enough to melt the jig head or the powder coat, but it allows it to cure better and stronger. Do a websearch on baking, not cooking, your powdercoated jig heads. One more time.......DO NOT BAKE JIGHEADS IN AN OVEN YOU COOK FOOD IN!!!!!

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Shimano4Life View Post
    ....DO NOT BAKE JIGHEADS IN AN OVEN YOU COOK FOOD IN!!!!!