Search Fishin.com

Post Thanks / Like

Cool Depth finder problem

Okay guys I have a problem and need a little help.I have a Hummingbird 525 depth finder that has the transducer mounted in the hull,,Its only displaying 1.6 depth no matter how deep of water im in,running or sitting still,the temp.display is reading right but its not showing the right depth or fish,,,,i've adjusted everything on the menu from auto to manual,checked the transducer and its free of debree and still sitting tight...it was working fine a couple of weeks ago but now its not....anyone have any input on what else i can do or check before spending money on a new one? thanks in advance !!!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Depth finder problem

I'm no expert, but if somehow a bubble has formed between it and the hull, you could try putting enough water in the hull to cover the mounting surface where the puck is. If a bubble is causing the problem, this would fill it with water and make it work again.

Clint

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by clintcone View Post
    I'm no expert, but if somehow a bubble has formed between it and the hull, you could try putting enough water in the hull to cover the mounting surface where the puck is. If a bubble is causing the problem, this would fill it with water and make it work again.

Clint
    Actually, Clint's pretty close. I would say one of two things, either like he said about having an air bubble form (however less likely if it has worked a few days/week before and had time to set), or it didn't set properly and possibly has a crack or seperation in the epoxy. Sometimes using 5-min vs. 30-min epoxy can create problems like this, or if you didn't sand/prime the area of fiberglass you put the transducer. But just to make sure, you did epoxy a "shoot-thru" transducer and not a "Thru Hull" one right?

Post Thanks / Like