Search Fishin.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Fishing Deep....What would you use?

OK....now back from a recent blank out down at Dale Hollow I am curious of some good methods to get baits down to 30-60 ft deep without trolling using a downrigger. I was so frustrated on the water to be marking fish, and I mean a bunch of fish, and can't get down to em. When I used a jig, I was unsure about the depth the bait was sinking to count down 50 ft deep. Using a Silver Buddy I was practically vertically jigging it. None of which was, in my opinion, was the right technigue.

Will jigs work 50ft off the bottom? Keep in mind they were 50 ft deep, in 100 ft of water.

When faced with the same situation, WHAT WOULD YOU USE?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Fishing Deep....What would you use?

Drop shot with 10 inch worms.

Grumpy

Post Thanks / Like

I am very surprised the smallmouth were still that deep. 25 to 30 foot yea I can see but 50 feet, hmmm. I'm no Dale expert but if they really were that deep I would vertical fished a 3/4 to 1 ounce spoon on'em. One ounce jigs will work that deep to but man it's hard to stay in touch with the jig bite that far off the end of the rod, or at least it is for me. Spoon would have probably been your best bet, you may have been marking Walleye??

Post Thanks / Like

Hell, ya know after a while....anything would have worked. I have a larger spoon....I should have tried that.

Post Thanks / Like

Best way to do it is to try with a spoon or even a jig but the real best way is to drop a shiner down on them. Measure out the line and get a rod holder and set the bait right above where the fish are holding and then fish like you normally would and then catch the smallies that slam the rod in the holder. I know some guys don't like using live bait but when you just want to put some fish in the boat this is sometimes all that work this time of year when the fish suspend in the schools of bait.

Post Thanks / Like