Search Fishin.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Depth Finder Question?

Took my boat to the shop last year and it sat out in the weather while waiting to get worked on. Now the depth finder screen is hard to see from the moisture getting inside. Any tricks on fixing the problem other than replacing it. Thanks

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Depth Finder Question?

I'm not an expert, but, you may try placing it in a small airtight container with a lot of the silica packaging material to draw out the moisture. Its the stuff that is a lot of packaging to keep moisture down. If you by some products with it (you know the stuff that says "do not eat") save the silica packets and try them. Perhaps you could get friends to save any they run across as well. Other than that??? You may be able to find some silica packets on the net as well.

Post Thanks / Like

you can take the screen off and dry it out. Take the screws out of the back and it will pull apart. Easy!

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by cman View Post
    you can take the screen off and dry it out. Take the screws out of the back and it will pull apart. Easy!
    I think that kind of depends on the brand and process used to fill the unit with inert gas.

You may have cracked something in the cold temps that let the moisture in. maybe to sit out in the sun and warm up for a few days and let it get hotter could help.

Post Thanks / Like