Search Fishin.com

Post Thanks / Like

West Virginia fly fishin - advice needed

Hi All,

I'm new to the board and new to fly fishin. I've been an avid bass fisherman for over 30 years. I got hooked on fly fishing over the past year because I was working with a client in Spokane, WA. I live in Louisville but spent the better part of last year in Washington only a few miles from the Idaho border. I had lots of weekends away from the family and with nothin to do but go fishin! I did a few guided trips on the Coeur d'Alene river last fall and fell in love with fly fishin. Only caught a handful of small cut throats but, man, what a great way to fish!

In two weeks I'm starting to work with a new client in Beverly, WV. From what I've read, it's prime trout country. I'm a beginner so I need some advice. I can't really afford to hire a guide so I want to pick up a selection of basic tackle to take with me. I have a nice rod and reel bought in Idaho, a good pair of Sims waders and boots, a bunch of leaders and tippets that the guide gave me, and a nice Fishpond vest. I was hoping to pick up a handful of all-around, must have flies to take with me. What do you guys suggest?

Also, Beverly is near Elkins, WV. Anyone have experience fishin in this area? I plan to try to hit the water in the evenings after work. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Thanks!!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: West Virginia fly fishin - advice needed

You might want to wait until you actually go to the area to get your flys. A lot are generic but seems like every area has it's favorites. Check with a local W.Va. fly shop regarding flys, weights, colors, etc. Might cost a little more but their advice is usually worth it. Good luck.

Post Thanks / Like

That makes sense...thanks!

Post Thanks / Like