Search Fishin.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Evinrude Mechanical Question

If by chance there are any Evinrude mechanics out there in fishn.com world. What would cause my Z20 to take so long to get on plane? When I 1st bought the boat it was like a bullet coming out of the water. Now 5 years later it seems to take forever to get on plane. I have the 225 Etec HO. Thanks. much Marty

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Evinrude Mechanical Question

Quote Originally Posted by rudeZ20 View Post
    If by chance there are any Evinrude mechanics out there in fishn.com world. What would cause my Z20 to take so long to get on plane? When I 1st bought the boat it was like a bullet coming out of the water. Now 5 years later it seems to take forever to get on plane. I have the 225 Etec HO. Thanks. much Marty
    i am not a boat mechanic, but, does the motor just not seem to power up as quick now and has your top end speed changed from new. any changes to the jack plate or prop? proper maintence such as fuel filter change spark plugs, also some of the gasoline now has a tendancy to break down the inner lining of older fuel line hoses. disconnect at your primer bulb and inspect the fuel line for stuff that looks like (chipped off clear coat) as best i can describe it. this was a major issue that has been seen the past two years. if those are not the problem, i would post on bbc in the evinrude section. but a quick way to tell if its a fuel line issue is to get the correct inside diameter hole fuel line (about 5 ft) from autozone ect. and take a 5 gallon plastic gas can and a friend to the lake. take the motor cover off and connect one end of the new hose to the fuel housing have a friend hold the other end in the gas can, let it idle for afew minutes to clear and warm then see if the hole shot changes. if it does then i would change out all my fuel line and filter. hope this helps.

Post Thanks / Like