Search Fishin.com

Post Thanks / Like

Question Catching Bait at Cumberland

ok, so I have now bit the bullet and purchased new 30 gal Vest SBT. Will take 4 weeks to ship, so right on time for fall fishing! I plan to fish Cland say early October to early November. Can anyone help me w/ ideal locations/depth to catch bait? I have read for gizzards go to heads of creeks (shallower water), but since I plan to fish main lake (Jamestown to Beaver??), would I be better off catching alewives or threadfin? I have also read that alewives run deeper, so when net drops to that depth will it stay open? I have a 6' net, is that large enough? Do most folks catch bait early a.m. under the lights or can you catch during day just as easily? Sorry for all the questions, but I'm new to this and just trying to plan strategy. I practice catch & release so hope to take plenty of pics. Any feedback would be much appreciated.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Catching Bait at Cumberland

Received good feedback from Striperphil on LC Forum. I am now purchasing a 8' 3/8 cracker and will be getting up at 3:30 to catch bait! Any thoughts on location/depth would also be helpful. Also, Striperphil mentioned that threadfins are not the best bait. Just curious, why? Are they worth keeping if I'm unable to catch alewives/shad?

Post Thanks / Like

Try some searches on this board. hit the search link in the grey horizontal bar at top of board.

Post Thanks / Like

Thx Peter! I've read a ton of threads using the advanced search feature and found a lot of good info on catching bait. I'll pass along whatever I can when I return from October trips.

Post Thanks / Like

Wink Re: Catching Bait at Cumberland

Quote Originally Posted by air1lch View Post