Search Fishin.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Post Thanks / Like

Question What's "Best Time of Year" to catch a "Trophy Striper" on Lake Cumberland

So, that's the question! Comments from all who fish for stripers on LC, individuals, as well as guides would be appreciated . Likewise, what's the Worst Time !
    Thanks ,

Post Thanks / Like

Re: What's "Best Time of Year" to catch a "Trophy Striper" on Lake Cumberland

I have been wondering this same question. I am still a rookie at striper fishing, have been 3 times total and only boated two stripers and a walleye. Coming down this weekend for the first time this year hoping for some luck. I have a decent idea of the baits to use just never sure which areas to target since the lake is so massive. Have never seen them in the jumps before so that would be a treat for sure. Will be putting in at Halcombs right there by the dam and probably fish Indian Creek and possibly Beaver Creek. Everything I read says the best bite is early morning and late evening.

So my answer to your question is November or December. Seems like every time I have been down there this time of year I hear of some giants coming out of the lake. It seems like the numbers were good this past spring (before the kill) but no trophies like I have heard about in the late fall before. Maybe I'm just trying to boost my confidence for this weekend, interested in what other (more educated striper fishermen) have to say.

Post Thanks / Like

December.

Post Thanks / Like

Talking Re: What's "Best Time of Year" to catch a "Trophy Striper" on Lake Cumberland

Quote Originally Posted by apb View Post
    December.
    You must turn in you're "Secret fisherman man card"

Post Thanks / Like

PRO V LE,
    I do maintain my TN fishin lic. Are you suggesting I go south....for the Big Ens?

Post Thanks / Like