Search Fishin.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

diseased fish/fungus

in the winter its not unusual to catch large mouth here on Dale, with black ugly splotches,
    but sat. this 3-4lb large mouth took it past splotches actual large growths the size of acorn's i wonder if there a site i could forward this picture to for info.
    http://i271.photobucket.com/albums/j...e/100_1047.jpg

Post Thanks / Like

Re: diseased fish/fungus

Try the TN department of fish and wildlife. Google to find their web site.

Post Thanks / Like

Whoa....................hope it's not the virus that causes hemorrhaging and is highly contagious. I forget what the name of the particular virus is, but I pray Dale isn't contaminated with it. It was spread (like Zebra mussels) and has led to several large fish kills.

I'm not an expert, so like Boone stated I would leave it up to the TN Department of F&W to determine. If they let you know something, please post the results -- I would like to know what they have to say.

Post Thanks / Like

I've seen several pictures of largemouth from dale with those black splotches...I've heard several theories but does anybody know exactly what causes them?

Post Thanks / Like

I've seen several largemouths and smallmouths like the one pictured. We labeled one creek at Dale "Mutant Creek" because we have caught so many fish that either had splotches,half a jaw, missing an eye, or covered in tumors etc.

A guide at Dale told me several years ago that they lost a lot of big largemouths to LMBV (largemouth Bass Virus) back in the late 90's. I assume that it is a one-time kind of virus.
    It's still a good practice to bleach out your livewells if you keep any fish in them.

Post Thanks / Like

If it goes into my livewell, it goes home! Why take a fish to some other place so folks can look at it.I release almost all my fish, hate cfleaning them, and worrying about critters tearing up the garbage bags.

Post Thanks / Like