Search Fishin.com

Hybrid View

Post Thanks / Like

Ohio River night fishin

Hey all I'm planning on going out tomorrow night on the boat to do a little night fishing on the Licking and Ohio near Cincinnati. I will most likely be cat fishin mostly. I am new to the wonderful world of boat ownership and have noooooo clue where the fishing is at on the river. Would anyone know any spots on the Ohio near Cincy or on the Licking River to catch some Cats. Or maybe I should focus on something else? Striper maybe? I Have heard that you want to look at the depth finders for holes or drop off and fish the deep side. Is there any truth to this? Any help for anyone in the area would be extremely helpful. As I said I am used to being limited to shore finshing, but now I am in a whole new world!!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Ohio River night fishin

I'm afraid I can't offer you any spots, just a few words of caution.

Make sure your navigation lights work and are on if on the river at night.

Tie off/Anchor close to shore, and watch the barges...they will rock your world.

Be safe, and Good Fishin !!

Post Thanks / Like

Yes of course!I am on the local water rescue team in this area and have seen what can happen when you don't let everyone know where your at! You wouldn't beleive how many people think that barges will get out of their way quicker than they can get out of the barges! Playing chicken with a boat that weights more than some apartment buildings and is 200yrds long never ends well....

Post Thanks / Like

Where are planning to launch, Maybe I can help

Post Thanks / Like

If you boat up to the 275 bridge there use to be a dike there. Use your depht finder to locate the deep holes. There should be some nice cat laying there. Cut bait or chicken liver should work. Good luck

Post Thanks / Like