Search Fishin.com

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Console, nothing working, no power???

I have nothing working on my console. No gas gauge, no rpms, no aerator for livewell, no bilge pump. Checked the fuses, seem OK. Could it be a bad ground wire. My depth finder on the console works, which is hooked up to the wire board under the console.Please any suggestions on what to look for. I am not an electrician, and am stumped!!
    Bassky

Post Thanks / Like
    check all connections. something is loose or not connected.

Post Thanks / Like
    I don't know how new the boat is but it might have a breaker that is thrown, or you might have a wire that has corroded and broke off at the battery.

Post Thanks / Like

Breaker

Sometimes there is a breaker or fuse at the battery. Be sure to check there. Good Luck

Post Thanks / Like
    No fuses at the battery. No breakers. I have fuses on the console and checked them, all OK. There must be a loose or broken wire somewhere.

Barry Guest
    Might want to get a voltage meter. I think you can pick one from Wal-mart, I know Radio Shack would have one. Start at the cranking battery to see what voltage it has for output. Red to the (+) and Black to (-). The voltage should be around 12.4-.8 if the battery is good. Check El Super Ad and Family Dollar Ad. Follow the wires to see where they go and keep checking voltage and keep moving till you find the problem. Hope this helps...

Post Thanks / Like
    I had the exact thing happen to me earlier this year. On most boats, under the dash, there will be a wiring harness connector for all of your instruments and power at the console. On my boat, it was a white connector with about 10 wires that was hanging right under the dash. This had come unplugged. Actually, the clips that held the two sides of the connector together had broken and it had worked it's way loose. I plugged it back together and wrapped it with electrical tape so it couldn't come back apart.